‘It Should Not Take Everything You Have to Turn Down Someone’s Offer for Sex’

its admirable to see someone stand up for themselves. it may take all the physical strenght ang fighting the losing battle but the result is always brave inspiring. i have so much respect for those women. No one should get used to being abused.

Longreads

Twice in my life I have had to fight for my safety. Twice in my life I have physically pushed a man out of my home. Twice in my life I have thrown a man off of me and locked myself in a room where he could not come after me, until he left, until someone else came to help me. It took every ounce of physical and emotional strength that I had. It was exhausting. It was frightening. Had I been the slightest bit more tired, had I been at someone else’s house, had I not had the hope of someone else’s arrival to sustain me, I might have fought and lost. To Ellen and her mother, I might be an example of a “good” near-rape victim.

I should not have had to do it either time. The first time I said No, the first time I turned…

View original post 206 more words

Leave a Reply

